I didn’t abandon you.

So my cat has a Urinary Tract Infection.

She’s been pissing everywhere else BESIDES the litter box, as the other cats won’t let her go inside the litter box. It’s quite sad. She is one of the sweetest, cuddliest kitties you will ever meet. She is a calico with silky, soft fur.

We had to take her to the vet for her to get checked out because of her behavior. She howled, hissed, and threw herself against the cage she was held in practically the entire way to the clinic. She was terrified at the clinic, and we had to leave her there the whole day; they needed a urine sample, but she wouldn’t go. She was so scared we would leave her there for good.

She was getting attacked by the other cats and we were getting mad at her for peeing right in front of us. It isn’t hard to understand why she would believe we were done with her.

I can’t imagine the relief when my mum held her in her arms at the clinic, coddling her, getting in that same car that brought her there, and entering the house she lives in. She got extra cuddles that night.

The thing I said to her in bed, when she curled up on my chest to go to sleep, was “Don’t worry. We didn’t abandon you.”

Then, I understood something within myself.

The reason I write this post is because we need to realize even when we terribly screw up, when we have complete mental breakdowns (such as the one I have been having this week), when we cry in our spouse or mother’s arms and don’t want to leave (screaming for some reason that is completely meaningless, and we refuse to listen to reason) we are not abandoned. We are loved. There are people in our lives who seriously care about us! We are loved by our smiles, by the person, the soul within us.

No matter how we see ourselves.

When all hope feels lost, just know that God never has and never will abandon you.

We need to meet Him halfway sometimes.

Underneath all of the screams from the Enemy, God is whispering to us, “Don’t worry, I won’t abandon you. Even when you screw up. Even when you refuse to listen to me, my never failing wisdom. Even when you water the seed of doubt the Enemy has placed. I am here. My love will never, ever fail.”

Can you hear it?

Leave a Reply

